The work items of an inactive user are automatically forwarded to the inactive user’s manager.
To modify this OOTB behaviour you can configure a rule.To configure a rule for forwarding work items to another user other than inactive user’s manager.
Go to Global Settings → IdentityIQ Configuration → WorkItems → Work Item Rules